

Press Release August 23, 2021

Dunner/Minor also win the Rally del Friuli

- Lukas Dunner with co-driver Ilka Minor won the Mitropa Rally Cup classification at the 57th Rally del Friuli Venezia Giulia 2021 on Škoda Fabia R5.
- Local hero Rino Muradore drives a never endangered start-finish victory on Ford Escort RS 1800 MKII.
- German Martin Kainz wins the Club Championship classification.

(Munich, August 23, 2021) Lukas Dunner with co-driver Ilka Minor won the Mitropa Rally Cup classification at the 57th Rally del Friuli Venezia Giulia 2021 on Škoda Fabia R5. The young Austrian was able to set all the best times on the special stages.

However, his rival in the championship, German Manuel Kößler, was blocked by a competitor ahead of him on the first two special stages. The German's attempts to overtake were - consciously or unconsciously - prevented by the team that had started in front of him. On top of all the trouble came technical problems. A broken half-shaft prevented him from advancing quickly. At the finish, he took second place ahead of Slovenia's Janko Čebron.

Hermann Gassner sen. reached rank 4 with co-driver Karin Thannhäuser even though he had several punctures. Italian Alessandro Glessi returned to the championship after 2 years of Mitropa Rally Cup abstinence with a Ford Fiesta Rally4 and not only finished 5th but also won the 2WD classification. Hansi Retzer reached the finish line in 6th place.

Curious also for Olaf Rachner, who finished in 7th position. From the 6 special stages he could drive only 3 stages on best time. The other stages were neutralized due to accidents of other participants. Wolfgang Irlacher retired due to clutch damage in SS 3.

In the historical Cup classification, the positions were taken from the beginning, especially since Alfons Nothdurfter struggled with thermic problems on the car and a drive shaft broke in the first special stage. So the local heroes Rino Muradore with co-driver Marsha Loredana Zanet on the Ford Escort RS 1800 MKII drove home a never endangered start-finish victory.

The German team Wolfgang and Paul Mark Nehse on BMW M3 E30 followed by the Hungarian Mésziati on Lada VAZ 2101 took second place with a gap of more than 5 minutes. Josef Schölderle retired in the second special stage with a broken clutch rope.



In the Club Championship, everything initially looked like a victory for Italian Alessandro Cepek. But after SS 4 the fuel pump of his Renault Clio RS broke down.

Therefore the following two teams moved up and Martin Kainz won with his backup codriver Aljaž Gec on his Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VII the classification ahead of Rüdiger Dilg with Günter Brandl.

Results 57. Rally del Friuli Venezia Giulia 2021

Mitropa Rally Cup (FIA App. J)

- 1. Dunner Lukas/Minor Ilka (AUT) Škoda Fabia R5 (1:14:20.2)
- 2. Kößler Manuel/ Kalinke Melanie (DEU) Subaru Impreza STi R4 (+1:33.6)
- 3. Čebron Janko/ Kavčič Andrej (SLO) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX (+2:47.1)
- 4. Gassner sen. Hermann/ Thannhäuser K. (DEU) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X R4 (+3:21.8)
- 5. Glessi Alessandro/ Lamanda Lorenzo (ITA) Ford Fiesta Rally4 (+6:44.9)
- 6. Retzer Hansi/ Holzer Lisa (DEU) Honda Civic Type-R EP3 (+7:32.5)
- 7. Rachner Olaf/Rachner Heike (DEU) Suzuki Swift Sport Mk4 (+13:37.8)

Mitropa Rally Historic Cup (FIA App. K)

- 1. Muradore Rino/Zanet Marsha Loredana (ITA) Ford Escort RS 1800 MKII (1:18:40.9)
- 2. Nehse Wolfgang/Nehse Paul Mark (DEU) BMW M3 E30 (+5:17.6)
- 3. Mésziati/ Paukovics Lilla (HUN)- Lada VAZ 2101 (+9:17.7)

Mitropa Rally Club Championship

- 1. Kainz Martin/Gec Aljaž (DEU/SLO) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VII (1:20:08.4)
- 2. Dilg Rüdiger/Brandl Günter (DEU) Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VII (+1:53.6)



Championship Points Mitropa Rally Cup

Mitropa Rally Cup – Driver

1. Dunner Lukas	(AUT)	221
2. Kößler Manuel	(DEU)	177
3. Gaßner Hermann	(DEU)	127
4. Noller René	(DEU)	106
5. Rachner Olaf	(DEU)	97

Mitropa Rally Cup – Co-Driver

1. Kalinke Melanie	(DEU)	150
2. Thannhäuser Karin	(DEU)	136
3. Rachner Heike	(DEU)	126
4. Kondella-Fülep	(HUN)	79
5. Miedl Regina	(DEU)	76

Mitropa Rally Historic Cup – Driver

1. Murado	re Rino	(ITA)	116
2. Mesziati	Attila	(HUN)	100
3. Wirtmar	nn Ferenc	(HUN)	65
4. Nothdur	fter Alfons	(AUT)	59
		(

5. Openauer Gerhard (AUT) 58

Mitropa Rally Historic Cup – Co-Driver

1. Paukovics Lilla	(HUN)	112
2. Kerekes József	(HUN)	65
 Nolte J ürgen 	(DEU)	63
4. Gräbner Katrin	(DEU)	52
5. Bökamp Lothar	(DEU)	30

Mitropa Rally Club Championship – Driver

1. Kainz Martin	(DEU)	172
2. Dilg Rüdiger	(DEU)	160
3. Scheidhammer Alois	(DEU)	106
4. Gyarmati Ariel	(HUN)	106
5. Matics Mihály	(HUN)	96



Mitropa Rally Club Championship - Co-Driver

1. Brandl Günter	(DEU)	138
2 Bergmann Andreas		125

- 2. Bergmann Andreas(DEU)1353. Regner August(DEU)116
- 4. Kocsis György (HUN) 106
- 5. Horváth Lajos (HUN) 98

Mitropa Rally Cup Calendar 2021

Rally Velenje (Slovenia) 28.-29.05.21 54. Mecsek Rallye (Hungary) 24.-26.06.21 Rally del Casentino – Toscana (Italy) 02.-03.07.21 Rally Zelezniki (Slovenia) 23.-24.07.21 Rally del Friuli (Italy) 19.-23.08.21 Rally Nova Gorica (Slovenia) 9.-11.9.21 ADAC 3-Städte-Rallye (Germany) 14.-16.10.21 Rally Citta di Bassano (Italy) 22.-23.10.21

The Mitropa Rally Cup is of the oldest rally series in Europe. It was founded in 1965. Famous names such as Sandro Munari, Franz Wittmann, "Lucky" Luigi Battistolli, Armin Schwarz and Hermann Gassner have already entered their names in the series' winners' lists. Fans affectionately refer to the Mitropa Rally Cup as the "unofficial European Rally Championship for private drivers." The series is a championship recognized by the FIA (Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile). Participants can register in the categories FIA homologated vehicles and historic vehicles according to FIA Appendix K.

https://mitropa-rally-cup.com/

###





Lukas Dunner / Ilka Minor (AUT) Škoda Fabia R5 Photo Credit: Lorenzo Pocar



Manuel Kößler/Melanie Kalinke (DEU) Subaru Impreza STi R4 Photo Credit: Paolo Drioli





Winners Mitropa Rally Historic Cup – Rino Muradore/ Zanet Marsha Loredana Photo Credit: Paolo Drioli



Martin Kainz/ Gec Aljaž – Club Championship Photo Credit: Paolo Drioli

Contact Mitropa Rally Cup Press Officer

Lothar Bökamp lothar.boekamp@mitropa-rally-cup.com