



Press Release July 27, 2021

Dunner/Minor win the Rally Zelezniki

- Lukas Dunner/Ilka Minor set 5 fastest times and won the classification in the Mitropa Rally Cup after 106 special stage kilometers.
- The classification for historic vehicles was won by the Austrian Openauer after a hard fight.
- The victory in the Club Championship went to the Hungarian team Mihály Matics/Miklós Maricsek.

(Munich, July 27, 2021) Another victory for the Austrian team Lukas Dunner/Ilka Minor on the Škoda Fabia R5. The team won 5 out of 10 special stages and after 106 kilometers of racing was almost a minute ahead of second-placed Aleš Zrinski/Rok Vidmar from Slovenia.

After a strong drive in their Ford Fiesta Rally4, the Slovenian team Jernej Fakin/Gregor Fakin, also from Slovenia, claimed third place overall. Manuel Kößler/Melanie Kalinke had to settle for 4th place after a puncture in the final stage. With a fastest time in SS 4, however, they sent a clear signal that they are still a force to be reckoned with in the championship.

Senior Hermann Gaßner saved 5th place with his codriver Karin Thannhäuser. The rally was not easy for his mechanics, the turbocharger of the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X R4 had to be changed before the overnight break.

The 19-year-old René Noller with co-driver Jennifer Lerch put his Opel Corsa Rally4 down in 6th place overall after a flawless drive. Another youngster, 21-year-old Jonas Ertz had to park his Toyota GT86- CS-CR3 in SS 7 after problems with the engine electronics.

In the historic Mitropa Rally Cup division the Italian Rino Muradore and Gerhard Openauer from Austria delivered a real firework of SS best times. In the beginning, only the Hungarian Ferenc Wirtmann was able to keep up, but after the third stage he had to give up due to technical problems. All three drove their Ford Escort RS at the absolute limit. At the end of the first day, after 45 kilometers of racing, Muradore was leading by a razor-thin margin of 0.5 seconds ahead of Openauer.

On the final day, after a furious drive, Openauer managed to take the lead from SS 7 and did not relinquish it. In the end, the defeated the Italian with a lead of 4.4 seconds. "I drove 115 percent, there was nothing more to do", Gerhard Opener and co-driver Günther Baumgartner were pleased at the finish.





In the Club Championship, championship leader Ariel Gyarmati (HUN) was hit directly in the first special stage. Due to contact with the guard rail, he had to park his vehicle. The team Mihály Matics/Miklós Maricsek on a Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX R4, also coming from Hungary, set a clear signal. They drove home a start-finish victory in this category. They won all 10 special stages. An increasingly strong Martin Kainz from Germany in the Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VII continuously improved his performance, but in the end he was not quite able to beat the fast Hungarian Tibor Tajmel in the BMW M3 E36. At the finish, Kainz parked his car in third place by just 8.5 seconds.

Results 8. Rally Zelezniki 2021

Mitropa Rally Cup (FIA App. J)

- 1. Dunner Lukas Minor Ilka (AUT) / Škoda Fabia R5 (1:11:55.3)
- 2. Zrinski Aleš Vidmar Rok (SLO) / Ford Fiesta R5 (+55.1)
- 3. Fakin Jernej Fakin Gregor (SLO) / Ford Fiesta Rally4 (+1:23.8)
- 4. Kößler Manuel Kalinke Melanie (DEU) Subaru Impreza STi R4 (+1:51.3)
- 5. Gaßner sen. Hermann Thannhäuser K. (DEU) / Mitsubishi Lancer Evo X R4 (+2:40.6)
- 6. Noller René Lerch Jennifer (DEU) / Opel Corsa Rally4 (+3:30.3)
- 7. Čebron Janko Kavčič Andrej (SLO) / Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX (+3:35.1)
- 8. Puskádi János Gódor Barnabás (HUN) / Škoda Fabia Rally2 evo (+3:47.8)
- 9. Göttig Stefan Solbach-Schmidt N. (DEU) / Škoda Fabia R5 (+4:20.7)
- 10. Irlacher Wolfgang Miedl Regina (DEU) / Honda Civic Type-R R3 (+5:38.4)
- 11. Rachner Olaf Rachner Heike (DEU) / Suzuki Swift Sport Mk4 (+16:57.7)

Mitropa Rally Historic Cup (FIA App. K)

- 1. Openauer Gerhard Baumgartner G. (AUT) / Ford Escort RS 2000 MKII (1:20:47.5)
- 2. Muradore Rino Crosilla Simone (ITA) / Ford Escort RS 1800 MKII (+4.4)
- 3. Brink Burghard Bökamp Lothar (DEU) / Lancia Delta Integrale 16V (+4:34.7)

Mitropa Rally Club Championship

- 1. Matics Mihály Maricsek Miklós (HUN) / Mitsubishi Lancer Evo IX R4 (1:14:25.0)
- 2. Tajmel Tibor Horváth Lajos (HUN) / BMW M3 E36 (+4:01.5)
- 3. Kainz Martin Bergmann Andreas (DEU) / Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VII (+4:10.0)
- 4. Cepek Alessandro Colja Fabrizio (ITA) / Renault Clio RS (+4:38.8)
- 5. Scheidhammer Alois Regner August (DEU) / Nissan 350Z (+7:41.9)
- 6. Dilg Rüdiger Brandl Günter (DEU) / Mitsubishi Lancer Evo VII (+8:16.7)
- 7. Stekar Daniele Calabretta Paolo (ITA) / Renault Clio Williams (+10:27.9)
- 8. Páhi Csaba Rezgő Erik (HUN) / Ford Fiesta Proto (+11:51.3)
- 9. Droandi Norberto Gec Aljaž (ITA/SLO) / Peugeot 106 Rallye (+14:01.1)





Championship Points Mitropa Rally Cup

Mitropa Rally Cup – Driver

1. Dunner Lukas	(AUT)	178
2. Kößler Manuel	(DEU)	141
3. Noller René	(DEU)	106
4. Gaßner Hermann	(DEU)	87
5. Rachner Olaf	(DEU)	73

Mitropa Rally Cup - Co-Driver

1. Kalinke Melanie	(DEU)	100
2. Rachner Heike	(DEU)	98
3. Thannhäuser Karin	(DEU)	93
4. Kondella-Fülep	(HUN)	79
5. Fakin Gregor	(SVN)	74

Mitropa Rally Historic Cup – Driver

1. Muradore Rino	(ITA)	86
2. Mesziati Attila	(HUN)	74
3. Wirtmann Ferenc	(HUN)	65
4. Openauer Gerhard	(AUT)	58
5. Nothdurfter Alfons	(AUT)	54

Mitropa Rally Historic Cup – Co-Driver

1. Paukovics Lilla	(HUN)	82
2. Kerekes József	(HUN)	65
3. Nolte Jürgen	(DEU)	58
4. Gräbner Katrin	(DEU)	52
5. Bökamp Lothar	(DEU)	30

Mitropa Rally Club Championship – Driver

1. Kainz Martin	(DEU)	132
2. Dilg Rüdiger	(DEU)	124
3. Scheidhammer Alois	(DEU)	106
4. Gyarmati Ariel	(HUN)	106
5. Matics Mihály	(HUN)	96





Mitropa Rally Club Championship - Co-Driver

1. Bergmann Andreas (DEU) 135

2. Regner August (DEU) 116

3. Kocsis György (HUN) 106

4. Horváth Lajos (HUN) 98

5. Brandl Günter (DEU) 88

Mitropa Rally Cup Calendar 2021

Rally Velenje (Slovenia) 28.-29.05.21 54. Mecsek Rallye (Hungary) 24.-26.06.21 Rally del Casentino – Toscana (Italy) 02.-03.07.21 Rally Zelezniki (Slovenia) 23.-24.07.21 Rally del Friuli (Italy) 19.-23.08.21 Rally Nova Gorica (Slovenia) 9.-11.9.21 ADAC 3-Städte-Rallye (Germany) 14.-16.10.21 Rally Citta di Bassano (Italy) 22.-23.10.21

The Mitropa Rally Cup is of the oldest rally series in Europe. It was founded in 1965. Famous names such as Sandro Munari, Franz Wittmann, "Lucky" Luigi Battistolli, Armin Schwarz and Hermann Gassner have already entered their names in the series' winners' lists. Fans affectionately refer to the Mitropa Rally Cup as the "unofficial European Rally Championship for private drivers." The series is a championship recognized by the FIA (Fédération Internationale de l'Automobile). Participants can register in the categories FIA homologated vehicles and historic vehicles according to FIA Appendix K.

https://mitropa-rally-cup.com/

###







Lukas Dunner / Ilka Minor (AUT) Škoda Fabia R5 — Rallye Zelezniki Photo Credit: Paolo Drioli



Winners Mitropa Rally Historic Cup – Gerhard Openauer/Günther Baumgartner Photo Credit: Paolo Drioli







Mihály Matics/Miklós Maricsek – Club Championship Photo Credit: Paolo Drioli

Contact

Mitropa Rally Cup Press Officer

Lothar Bökamp lothar.boekamp@mitropa-rally-cup.com